Rislone Update

In a previous post I wrote about adding Rislone to my BMW 535 N54 engine hoping to quiet the tappets that are common on BMW’s. The Rislone went to work right away and within a few minutes after draining the bottle down the oil chute, the tappets became much quieter.

After a 1,000 mile trip to NC and back, the engine runs so much quieter. In fact, if there is any ambient noise around I can hardly hear the engine. My youngest, who is 14 and completely uninterested in cars (except bright green ones) remarked this morning that the car is so much quieter now even at cold idle.

Now that it’s going to get up in the 60’s in the next couple of days, I’m going to change the oil so that all the sludge that Rislone removed will be out of the engine.

BMW’s run best when their fluids are fresh.

Leave a comment